D’oh! Opps! My Bad! I had to renew?

mag.nolia.jpg

While trying to add a few recent web finds to my Ma.gnolia.com bookmarks I kept getting a strange error, “Domain not registered”. I thought perhaps I had typed the wrong address so I tried it again. I double checked the spelling , I looked for other links on the web, I tried accessing the root domain. Nothing worked! Ma.gnolia.com, one of my favorite bookmarking sites has apparently forgotten to pay its domain registration and been kicked offline.
were closed
This highlights a huge area of exposure for Web 2.0 companies. Flops, foibles, mistakes and missteps which would traditionally be hidden from public sight can now get tons of exposure and ridicule. While I expect that ma.gnolia.com will be back online in short order and it will continue to move on with its business, this is the sort of error that managers within the corporate behemoths dread. I can guarantee that this kind of public gaffe is going to be held up in a conference room in corporate America somewhere, as an example of why something shouldn’t be done, get more analysis, proceed slower, involve more people and require more meetings. The fear of failure, or even the appearence of failure, is a big driver of many decisions and its exactly this fear that ensures Media 2.0 wont belong to the traditional players.

2 Responses to D’oh! Opps! My Bad! I had to renew?

  1. Jamie says:

    Just searching on google and found your site. It was ranked fairly high on google to. Anyway just looking around to see why.
    thanks
    jamie

Leave a Reply

